Withdrawal Agreement What Happens Next

Since its withdrawal, the UK has had no say in the EU institutions. British citizens are therefore also excluded from participation in European Citizens` Initiatives and do not have the right to vote in local elections in other EU countries or in elections to the European Parliament or in such elections. And after a stormy day of debate in Parliament on Monday, the government won a first vote on passing the law in the next stage by 340 votes to 263. The government announced on Monday its intention to submit another application for approval of the revised Withdrawal Agreement. However, the president could put this out of order – because the same motion cannot be made twice in the same parliamentary session. If it allows a vote on the motion, supporters of the postponement could try to change it again. But if Parliament votes to approve the deal, the Benn Act stipulates that the prime minister can withdraw or amend the extension request. The transition period provided for in the Withdrawal Agreement, which ends on 31 December 2020, aims to give citizens, businesses and public administrations time to prepare for the end of the transition period. At the same time, negotiations between the EU and the UK on an agreement on the future relationship are to be concluded during this period. Here`s an overview of the most important information: The agreement covers topics such as money, civil rights, border regulations, and dispute settlement.

It also includes a transition period and an overview of the future relationship between the UK and the EU. It was published on 14 November 2018 and was the result of the Brexit negotiations. The agreement was approved by the heads of state and government of the remaining 27 EU countries[9] and the British government of Prime Minister Theresa May, but met with resistance in the British Parliament, whose approval was required for ratification. The consent of the European Parliament would also have been required. On 15 January 2019, the House of Commons rejected the Withdrawal Agreement by 432 votes to 202. [10] The House of Commons again rejected the agreement on March 12, 2019 by 391 votes to 242[11] and rejected it a third time on March 29, 2019 by 344 votes to 286. On 22 October 2019, the revised withdrawal agreement negotiated by the Boris Johnson government was published in the first stage in Parliament, but Johnson suspended the legislative process when the accelerated approval programme did not find the necessary support and announced his intention to call a general election. [12] On the 23rd. In January 2020, Parliament ratified the agreement by adopting the Withdrawal Agreement.

On 29 January 2020, the European Parliament approved the Withdrawal Agreement. .